Welcome, guest. You are not logged in.
Log in or join for free!
Stay logged in
Forgot login details?

Stay logged in

For free!
Get started!

Text page

px presidential standard of bangladesh.svg

President of Bangladesh !

Presidential Standard:


Zillur Rahman
since 12 February 2009

Style The Honorable

Residence Bangabhaban Palace

Term length Five years, renewable once

Inaugural holder Sheikh Mujibur Rahman
Formation 26 March 1971

¤ ¤

The President of Bangladesh is the Headof State of Bangladesh , who takes precedence over all individuals of Bangladesh and appointsthe legislative, executiveand the judiciary. Since 1991, Bangladesh moved to a parliamentary democracy, and thus thePresident is now a largely ceremonial post elected by the parliament. Since 1996, the President's role becomes more important after the term of the governmenthas finished, when his executive authority is enhanced as laid down inthe constitution of the country. The President resides at the Bangabhaban Palace which is his office and residence. The President is elected to office by the 300 parliamentarians in an open ballot , and he will continue to hold office even after hisfive-year tenure expires,until a successor is elected.

This page:

Help/FAQ | Terms | Imprint
Home People Pictures Videos Sites Blogs Chat