Welcome, guest. You are not logged in.
Log in or join for free!
Stay logged in
Forgot login details?

Stay logged in

For free!
Get started!

Text page


What are the practices of Hindus?

The practice of Hinduism consists of rites and ceremonies centering on birth, marriage, and death.

There are three basic practices:

1.Worship (called Puja)

This is an integral part of the faith. Offerings (puja) are usually made to representations of the gods.


The dead are burnt not buried

3.Compliance with the rules of the caste system

The caste system, prescribed in the vedas, was 'a division of society to preserve society' similar to the society in ancient Egyptian times. Each group had rules of conduct to be obeyed.

The caste system divided people by occupation i.e. teachers and philosophers were brahmins; fighters were kshatriya; shopkeepers, moneylenders and tradespeople were vaishya; and servants and cleaners were shudra.

No caste was higher or more important (superior) to another. All were equal and aknowledged as essential to the society.


This page:

Help/FAQ | Terms | Imprint
Home People Pictures Videos Sites Blogs Chat